IPL 2019 Finals: Mumbai Indians beats Chennai Super Kings by 1 run to bag the IPL Champions Trophy

Sharing is caring!

Becomes the first team to win the IPL for the fourth time.

Hyderabad: Mumbai Indians lifted their fourth IPL 2019 trophy as they beat Chennai Super Kings by 1 run in a nail-biting final on Sunday at Uppal Stadium, Hyderabad. Mumbai Indians also became the first team to win the IPL for the fourth time. Opting to bat first after winning the toss, MI ended up with a below-par total despite Kieron Pollard’s unbeaten 41 off 25 balls. Deepak Chahar (3/26) was impressive with his balling once again and so was fellow pacer Shardul Thakur (2/37). The spinners, Harbhajan Singh (0/27) and Imran Tahir (2/23), too played a crucial role in limiting MI’s run growth.

               Even after D’Kock smashing 3 sixes on Chahar’s balling, Mumbai’s promising start to the match got converted into a wobbly one with D’Kock getting dismissed by Shardul Thakur and Rohit Sharma getting caught by Dhoni on Deepak Chahar’s balling right after de Kock’s fall, leaving MI at 45 for 2 in the sixth over. It was a brilliant comeback from Chahar after being hit for 20 in his previous over and credit to Dhoni for bringing him back into the attack and keeping the faith in the team’s most successful pacer this season.

                 With two new batsmen at the crease, the runs dried up before Ishan Kishan hit Dwayne Bravo for two boundaries to take MI to 70 for 2 in 10 overs. Just when it looked like Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav will produce a much-needed partnership, two wickets falling in quick session for the second time in the innings sent MI again on backfoot. It got worse for MI when Kishan tried to hit Tahir’s googly out of the park and his mishit went straight into the hands of Suresh Raina at the cover, leaving MI at 105 for 2 in 15 overs. Two of the biggest hitters in the game, Hardik and Pollard, were in the middle to put life into the innings and take their team to a fighting total. CSK had to pay for the breather they gave to Pandya as Raina dropped his catch at cover. Pandya made his opponents regret that drop by smashing Thakur for 2 sixes in the same over before getting out. Pollard at the other end did not get enough strike in the death overs. He finally faced all six balls in the final over and did not take the single off the first three deliveries after not being able to clear the boundary. He got the much-needed fours off the final two balls but it was not enough to spoil a tidy last over by Bravo.

                  After having to chase the target of 150, CSK had made a steady start by reaching 53 for 1 in the Powerplay but MI bounced back in the middle overs, eliminating Suresh Raina (8 runs off 14 balls) before getting rid of Raydu to buildup pressure on CSK. Jasprit Bumrah was impressive with the ball once again, as he gave just 14 runs and picked up 2 wickets in his four overs. In the penultimate over, he dismissed Dwayne Bravo but conceded nine runs due to poor misfielding. In the final over, CSK needed 9 runs to win. Malinga kept his lines clean and continued to trouble CSK’s batsmen with his dangerous yorkers. When the going gets tough, Shane Watson gets going! The former Aussie allrounder almost chased down the 150-run target for CSK, single-handedly by hitting 80 runs off 59 balls. But in the end, his ‘One Man Army’ innings fell short as Lasith Malinga unleashed his true skills in the final over.

                 The biggest thrilling turning point came to the game in the 13th over when we witnessed a very very rare case of Dhoni getting runout trying to steal an extra single (“I didn’t expect this reality to exist”, Doctor Strange must have said.) An alert Ishan Kishan was spot on with his direct hit and he just about managed to send the CSK’s skipper back to pavilion. Since it involved the CSK skipper, third umpire Nigel Llong saw replays with all possible angles and took his time before making a very difficult decision. The game changed drastically in CSK’s favor when Watson hammered Krunal Pandya for three consecutive overs, reducing the target to 18 runs off 12 balls but Watson getting runout tipped the balance in Mumbai’s favor and Thakur’s LBW runout on the final ball sealed Mumbai’s thrilling one-run win and in the end Mumbai managed to keep CSK at bay and bagged the IPL 2019 trophy for the fourth time.


  • Man-of-the-match of the final – Jasprit Bumrah
  • Emerging player of the season – Shubman Gill
  • Perfect Catch of the Season – Kieron Pollard
  • Stylish Player of the Season – KL Rahul
  • Purple cap – Imran Tahir (26 wickets)
  • Orange cap – David Warner (693 runs)
  • Most Valuable Player – Andre Russell
  • Super Striker of the Season – Andre Russell
  • Fairplay award – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Bureau News, Kokan Now, Hyderabad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: